Board of Trustees

While President and CEO Jeffrey Patchen is responsible for directing the museum’s day-to-day operations, the museum is governed by the Board of Trustees. Comprising no fewer than 24 members and no more than 35, the Board of Trustees also hires and oversees the President and CEO.

The Children’s Museum of Indianapolis is governed by its Board of Trustees.

Each Trustee serves a term of three years. Trustees receive no compensation for their service. Trustees are divided as closely as possible into three equal groups, with each group serving a staggered term so that approximately one-third of the board changes each year. No trustee can serve more than three consecutive three-year terms nor more than 10 years continuously, including any term of less than three years. A trustee can be re-elected to additional terms of office after a one-year absence from the board.

In addition to the trustees, the museum’s board includes three other types of members:

  • Distinguished advisors: These board members are community leaders whose counsel, advocacy, and experience strengthen the goals of the museum. No more than 20 such members are permitted at any given time, each serving a one-year term after being elected at the annual meeting of the Board of Trustees (a distinguished advisor can serve any number of consecutive or nonconsecutive terms). Distinguished advisors can attend board meetings, but they cannot vote on any measures before the board.
  • Honorary trustees: The Board of Trustees can, at its discretion, choose to designate as "Honorary Trustees" people other whose service to the museum it considers outstanding. Honorary trustees can attend board meetings, but they are not entitled to vote on any measures before the board.
  • Affiliate representatives: The Board of Trustees can appoint one or more affiliate representatives to the board. These nonvoting members include the president and vice president of the Children's Museum Guild, one person recommended by the Indianapolis Public School System, and one recommended by the City of Indianapolis. In addition the Board can appoint as an affiliate representatives members of other Indianapolis-area organizations. Affiliate representatives can attend all meetings of the Board of Trustees, but they are not entitled to vote on any measures before the board.






Jamie P. Merisotis

Lumina Foundation for Education


Vice Chair

Mike Sherman

Endocyte, Inc.



Julie R. Booth




John F. Ackerman

Cardinal Equity Partners



Jeffrey H. Patchen

President & CEO


Executive Committee

John F. Ackerman

Jennifer Alvey

Julie R. Booth

Jim Bremner

David Durm

Leigh R. Evans

Karen Hebert

Vanita Khanna-Yadav

Scott Kraege

Jamie P. Merisotis

Mike A. Sherman

Jeffrey H. Patchen, CEO



John F. Ackerman

Jennifer “Jenni” M. Alvey 

Julie R. Booth

Aman Brar

James D. Bremner

Julie M. Carmichael

Kathleen “Kathy” Dunbar

David P. Durm

Susan Elser

James C. Gilroy, III

Jeffrey M. Hagerman

Muhammad Hassan

Karen T. Hebert

Andrew J. Held

Danette Gerald Howard

Keith R. Iler

Vanita Khanna-Yadav

Scott Kraege

Thomas P. Laskey Jr.

Daniel M. Lechleiter

Jason Leet

Robin R. Marks

Jamie P. Merisotis

Meghan F. Miller

Brett A. Pheffer

Kathleen D. Postlethwait

Peter Salzmann

Mike A. Sherman

Lauren G. Sparkman

Karin L. Veatch

Kevin C. Woodhouse

Shon G. Wright

William D. Zink


Distinguished Advisors

Mark  W. Boyce

Susan W. Brooks

Steven P. Caltrider

Ronald E. Elberger

David N. Eskenazi

Suzanne Fehsenfeld

Polly H. Hix

J. Mark Howell

Katharine M. Kruse

Terri  Mann

Vop Osili

Michael F. Petrie

Jeffrey S. Pratt

G. Marlyne Sexton

Bui Simon

Emily Sturman

Christopher E.  Trede

Sheila J. Triplett

Deborah B. Wood


Honorary Trustees

Charlene  Barnette

Joseph D. Barnette, Jr.

Kenneth W. Burow,  Jr.

Mrs. William H. C. Failey

Philip C. Genetos

David W. Gray

Scott A. Jones

Philip S. Kappes

Catherine W. Lawson

John C. Lechleiter
Cordelia M. Lewis-Burks

Lloyd C. Lyons
William F. McConnell, Jr.

James H. Naus

Andrew J. Paine*

Gerald W. Paul

George H. Rawls

Thomas E. Reilly, Jr.

Robert H. Reynolds

Gary A. Ruben*

Yvonne H. Shaheen   

Jack R. Shaw                                                 

Deborah J. Simon

Susanne “Susie” Sogard

Hans W.  Steck

Fay H. Williams

* deceased


Immediate Past Chair

James D. Bremner


Affiliate Representatives

 Guild President through March 2018:

Sally Schacht


Guild Vice-President  and

Incoming Guild President Effective April 1, 2018:

Elizabeth Feldmann


City of Indianapolis Representative:

Lindsey Rabinowitch